Alexander Pope: On a certain Lady at Court

I KNOW the thing that’s most uncommon;
(Envy be silent and attend!)
I know a Reasonable Woman,
Handsome and witty, yet a Friend.

Not warp’d by Passion, aw’d by Rumour,
Not grave thro’ Pride, or gay thro’ Folly,
An equal Mixture of good Humour,
And sensible soft Melancholy.

‘Has she no Faults then (Envy says) Sir?’
Yes she has one, I must aver:
When all the World conspires to praise her,
The Woman’s deaf, and does not hear.

One thought on “Alexander Pope: On a certain Lady at Court

  1. I always try to give poems in the original spelling and punctuation, usually that of the first print, as far as I can access it. In this case, I have corrected “comspires” to “conspires” in the second but last line, which was probably just a typo either of the printer or the person who first typed it into a computer (I could find no facsimile). I could not find this strange spelling in any other context.

Leave a Reply

